Blogrolls? Link Widgets: A Quick Introduction

This article has some screen shots of how to set up your “Links” widgets (properly).

Question: The widget chooses for me which links appear. How do I fix this??

Step 1 WP Admin

Step 1 WP Admin

Step 2 Add Link Categories

Step 2 Add Link Categories

Step 3 Adding links into a category

Step 3 Adding links into a category

Step 4 Select a category for your links widget to display

Step 4 Select a category for your links widget to display

Other useful stuff to know:

  • I sort by Link ID because then I can manually control the order in which I want the links to appear.
  • You can also sort by Link ranking, if you added Link Rankings to step 3 (and if all your links do not have the same ranking, obviously!)
  • I like to show the Link Description. This option is not ticked by default.
  • You can choose the number of links to show, if you want to limit the size of your blogroll.
  • The link widget will now display only the specific links in the particular category you chose.

Happy blogging!

P.S. To see how this Link Widget ends up looking, visit Paddastoel.

2 thoughts on “Blogrolls? Link Widgets: A Quick Introduction

  1. Pingback: My Two Cents on Blogging Awards: Chain Mail or Link Schemes? « Paddastoel

If you found this post useful, please leave a comment below! If you found it objectionable, please notify me below! If you disagree with my perspective or have a content-related opinion, I'd especially love to hear from you!

